Belated NBD: LB76F (now with pics)

USA Custom Shop Acoustic and Electric Bass Guitars

Moderators: Kevio, ElfDude, JesseM, RockCrue, soundchick, ChrisH, peb, Mike Jones, Bundy

islandbass
Gold Member
Gold Member

Belated NBD: LB76F (now with pics)

Postby islandbass » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:42 am

I received my new bass back in April, but after a hectic end to the school year (I'm a teacher,) a move, summer vacation, getting ready for the next school year, and now hurricane Irma, I've been a bit tied up.

It is without a doubt the best bass I own, and I'm playing it almost exclusively now. The band leader for a big band I play with keeps raving about it, and I know he's going to be disappointed if I bring anything else to rehearsal now. :D I had had some uncertainty on if i I wanted fretless lines or not, but I think I made a good choice in going without. The side dots give enough reference for the third, fifth, seventh, and twelth "frets," and it isn't difficult (at least for me) to place the notes between them. Having good muscle memory helps. I do find it challenging once I get above the octave because the notes seem to be in tune when my finger is a little to the left of where it looks like it should be (might be a perspective thing.) But for 99% of my playing I don't have to worry about it.

The light blue looks really good. It gives the bass a clean, soft look, and with the glossy neck it enhances a smooth feel I love. I'd ordered about a week after the color became available, and until then I had mostly been eyeing the aqua burst, so that was a tough decision, but I'm happy with it. (Hey, it matches my eyes! :wink: )

Speaking of the gloss neck, I've had issues with gloss before, but on this bass it feels really nice. It makes it feel more sturdy in a way too.