Setups!

General Technical Discussion

Moderators: Kevio, ElfDude, JesseM, RockCrue, soundchick, ChrisH, peb, Mike Jones, Bundy

Doctor Doug
Gold Carvinite
Gold Carvinite
Links/Contact:

Setups!

Postby Doctor Doug » Sat Aug 18, 2018 8:25 am

Hey guys and gals. I'm curious about how you all set up your guitars.

I've been doing my own setups since I started playing and like pretty much every other aspect of my guitar playing I do it a little half assed.

I sort of eyeball the neck and adjust the action then intonate. For the most part it has served me well.

I've noticed since being on this forum that many of you have a precise and scientific way of approaching guitar playing and purchasing. I assume your setups are given the same attention.

My question is: What is the procedure you all use to set up your guitars and get them playing their best? I'm curious and want to get better at what I do.
facebook.com/hamfistrocks

skully13a
Gold Carvinite
Gold Carvinite

Re: Setups!

Postby skully13a » Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:03 pm

I do as you do. I like to see how others do it though, as I always learn a thing or two that way. :roll:
SH645
V440T
SM212 Stage Master
MB10

HarlowTheFish
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby HarlowTheFish » Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:06 pm

I lower the strings as much as I can at tension without bad buzz (killing sustain or sounding through the amp), and do each one individually so it's often a little higher on the bass side and sometimes strings aren't really properly radiused (which I don't mind tbh). Generally everything is 1-3mm at the 24th fret (22nd on the ones with 22), averaging 1.5 on the first and 2 on the 6th. I tend to go for a slightly higher nut though, so it's pretty much in that same height range along the entire fretboard.

ioneater
Carvinite
Carvinite

Postby ioneater » Sun Aug 19, 2018 6:03 am